Over seventy seven years ago there were 80 minute contests to determine who was the best person at picking corn by hand. Today the National Cornhusking Association sponsors a contest the third weekend in October to determine who is the best . There are twelve classes that are from ten to thirty minutes long that people can participate in. There are nine states that are members of the National Cornhusking Association, Iowa, Indiana, Ohio, Minnesota, Kansas, Missouri, Illinois, South Dakota and Nebraska.

2019 Open Classes

(Left to Right) In the left picture is Helen Cool, 2019 National President, Jammi Daise 2nd place Womens Open, and Nancy Miller 1st Place Womens Open. Not pictured, Emma Schneph who placed 3rd in the Womens Open.

(Left to Right) The picture on the right is Riley Gutrie 2nd place Mens Open and Ted Richard 1st place Mens Open. Not pictured, Frank Hennenfent who placed 3rd in the Mens Open.

The 2019 Nebraska National was an efficiently run contest and the weather was excellent. This was the year that Ted Richard from Indiana, Men's Open, and Bill Doyle from South Dakota, Men's 50 and up, won their respective classes without the use of corn husking hooks or pegs. This is the second year in a row that Bill has won the Men's 50 and up class.

The 2022 National and Illinois State Cornhusking Contests

Saturday October l5th and Sunday October 16th

At the Lewis Farm south east of Good Hope, Illinois

14241 N 1800th RD Good Hope, Illinois

Mitchel Burns 2nd book avalible, The Cornhusking Tradition
This book is the information about the national cornhusking contests from 2000 to 2015

Womens Open Contestant Nancy Miller Picks Most Clean Pounds per Minute in 2015

When Farmers Were Heroes, a documentary on the corn husking contests from 1924 to the present.

2021 National Cornhusking Championship Results

National Championship 2009 National Contest Results, Indiana
National Rules 2010 National Contest Results, Oakley, Kansas
2000 National Contest Results Kimballton, Iowa 2011 National Contest Results, Marshall Missouri
2001 National Contest Results Gifillan, Minnesota 2012 National Contest Results, Central City, NE
2002 National Contest Results Hunington, Indiana 2013 National Contest Results, Greenville, Ohio
2003 National Contest Results Upper Sandusky, Ohio 2014 National Contest Results, Amana, Iowa
2004 National Contest Results Oakley, Kansas 2015 National Contest Results, West Lafayette, Indiana
2005 National Contest Results Marshall, Missouri in HTML format 2016 National Contest Results, Goodhue, Minnesota
2006 National Contest Results Columbus, Nebraska 2017 Marshall, Missouri National Results
2007 National Contest Results. Dell Rapids, South Dakota 2018 Flandreau South Dakota National Results
2008 National Contest Results. Roseville, Illinois 2019 Gothenburg, Nebraska National Results

Husks Deduction Chart from Mitchel Burns 1st Book

Historian Reports

State Cornhusking Contest Information

Illinois State Cornhusking Web Site  2021 Kansas State Contest and National Contest 2021 Ohio State Contest
2022 Illinois State Contest 2021 Iowa State Contest 2021 South Dakota State Contest
2021 Indiana State Contest 2021 Nebraska State Contest 2021 Minnesota State Contest
2021 Missouri State Contest    

Cornhusking Information

Corn Items Collectors Association, Inc

Books about the cornhusking contests.
If you need more information E-mail Frank Hennenfent at: